10 oz gold bar: price, size and premiums
A 10 oz gold bar holds 10 troy ounces (311.035 g) of 99.99% gold, worth the live value below. On 12 October 2026 single 10 oz bars cost 1.63% to 4.29% above their gold value at three dealers in Canada, Australia and the US. It is a standard size there, but rarely sold by UK dealers.
The 10 oz bar is the workhorse of North American and Australian bullion buyers. It sits between the 100 g bar and the kilo, holds a little over 311 g of gold and, at October 2026 prices, costs around US$42,000. Its appeal is simple: a premium close to that of a kilo bar, in a bar a third of the size. This page sets out the refiners' dimensions, the live value, the prices we captured on 12 October 2026, how the cost per gram changes by size and where the 10 oz bar fits.
How big is a 10 oz gold bar?
Smaller than most people expect. Gold is so dense that 311 g fits in a block you can close your fingers around. The shape depends on whether the bar is cast (poured into a mould) or minted (stamped from a rolled strip and polished).
| Bar | Type | Purity | Dimensions | Minimum gross weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Perth Mint 10 oz cast bar | Cast | 99.99% | 48.00 x 25.00 x 17.00 mm (maximum) | 311.050 g |
| The Perth Mint Kangaroo 10 oz | Minted | 99.99% | 58.60 x 37.60 x 9.40 mm (maximum) | 311.066 g |
| Valcambi 10 oz (sold by APMEX) | Minted, mirror finish | 99.99% | Not stated | Not stated |
| Gold Stock Canada 10 oz (OMC, PAMP, RCM or Valcambi) | Varies | 99.99% | Varies by refiner | 10 troy oz (311.03 g) |
The Perth Mint quotes the largest possible measurements within its tolerances, so individual bars can be slightly smaller. Compare all weights in our gold bar sizes guide.
The cast bar is 17 mm thick, nearly twice the minted bar's 9.40 mm, but much shorter and narrower. That compact shape makes cast bars cheaper to produce and easy to stack in a vault. Minted bars give a larger, flatter face for a design and are usually sold sealed with an assay card. More on the two methods in cast vs minted bars.
What is a 10 oz gold bar worth today?
Its gold value is ten times the live spot price, the wholesale price of one troy ounce of gold.
| Quantity | USD | GBP | CAD | AUD |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bar (10 oz) | ... | ... | ... | ... |
| 2 bars (20 oz) | ... | ... | ... | ... |
| Per ounce | ... | ... | ... | ... |
| Per gram | ... | ... | ... | ... |
Spot-based melt values, not dealer prices. Last updated: Loading.
What did 10 oz gold bars cost on 12 October 2026?
Our automated check opened each product page between 07:33 and 07:35 UTC on Monday 12 October 2026 and read the price for a single bar at the cheapest payment method shown. We compared each price with the gold-api.com spot price at the same moment. The premium is how much more than the gold value you pay.
| Dealer | Bar | Price | Gold value | Premium |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gold Stock Canada (CA) | 10 oz bar, various refiners, wire or cheque | C$60,660.17 | C$59,685.60 | 1.63% |
| The Perth Mint (AU) | 10 oz cast bar | A$61,205.23 | A$59,945.17 | 2.10% |
| The Perth Mint (AU) | Kangaroo 10 oz minted bar | A$61,381.25 | A$59,945.17 | 2.40% |
| APMEX (US) | Valcambi 10 oz in assay, check or wire | US$43,656.90 | US$41,861.00 | 4.29% |
Spot used (gold-api.com): C$5,968.56, A$5,994.52 and US$4,186.10 per troy ounce. Premium = price / (10 x spot) - 1. Times: Perth Mint 07:33, Gold Stock Canada 07:34, APMEX 07:34 UTC. Paying by card cost more: C$62,934.93 at Gold Stock Canada and US$45,475.93 at APMEX. Follow-up checks: premium tracker.
Payment method matters on a bar this size. At APMEX, paying by card or PayPal instead of check or wire added US$1,819.03, more than the whole premium. At the Perth Mint, the minted Kangaroo bar cost A$176.02 more than the cast bar for identical gold. APMEX's Valcambi bar was the most expensive here, which is why it pays to compare dealers rather than assume a big bar is always cheap. See gold premiums explained.
See 10 oz bars at Gold Stock Canada
Is a 10 oz bar cheaper per gram than other sizes?
Often, but not always. The fair comparison is the same dealer at different weights. The table converts each price into the cost per gram of gold.
| Dealer | 1 oz | 100 g | 5 oz | 10 oz | 1 kg |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Perth Mint, cast bars | A$198.83 (2.86%) | A$197.07 (2.21%) | A$196.94 (2.20%) | A$196.78 (2.10%) | Special order |
| Gold Stock Canada | Not compared | C$193.56 (0.96%) | Not compared | C$195.03 (1.63%) | C$193.03 (0.60%) |
| APMEX | Not compared | US$139.53 (3.68%) | Not compared | US$140.36 (4.29%) | US$140.02 (4.03%) |
Premium over spot in brackets. 10 oz prices from this page. Other figures from our checks published in the 100 gram and 1 kg guides on 12 October 2026, and the Perth Mint cast 1 oz bar on 11 October 2026. Gold Stock Canada's 100 g bar was an Ontario Mint Corp bar; APMEX's 100 g bar was Valcambi and its kilo was a Perth Mint cast bar.
The Perth Mint shows the textbook pattern: the cost per gram falls steadily from 1 oz to 10 oz, though by less than one percentage point in total, because its cast bars are already cheap. The other two dealers break the pattern. At Gold Stock Canada and APMEX, the 10 oz bar cost more per gram than the 100 g bar we checked the same morning. The lesson is that brand, stock and dealer pricing can outweigh size. Check the per-gram price of the exact bar on offer. Our best gold bars to buy guide covers brands and sizes together.
Should you buy one 10 oz bar or ten 1 oz bars?
| 1 x 10 oz bar | 10 x 1 oz bars | |
|---|---|---|
| Premium (Perth Mint cast, Oct 2026) | 2.10% | 2.86% |
| Sell part of your gold | No | Yes, one ounce at a time |
| Items to keep track of | One bar, one certificate | Ten bars and ten cards |
| Space | Smallest | Still small |
A middle path some buyers take is a mix: a 10 oz bar for the bulk of their gold and a few 1 oz bars or coins for flexibility.
Who is a 10 oz gold bar right for?
- Good fit: North American and Australian buyers putting roughly US$40,000 or more into gold who want a low premium without going to a kilo.
- Good fit: buyers using vault storage, where cast 10 oz bars stack neatly.
- Good fit (US, Canada): retirement account buyers. APMEX states its Valcambi 10 oz bar is eligible for precious metals IRAs, and Gold Stock Canada says its bars meet CRA requirements for self-directed RRSP and TFSA accounts. Check with your account provider.
- Less ideal: UK buyers. Few UK dealers sell 10 oz gold bars, bars are liable to Capital Gains Tax, and Britannia and Sovereign coins are exempt.
- Less ideal: anyone who may need to sell small amounts.
How are 10 oz gold bars taxed in each country?
| Country | Buying | Selling at a gain |
|---|---|---|
| United States | Depends on state; no federal sales tax | Long-term gains taxed as collectibles at up to 28% (IRS Topic 409) |
| Canada | No GST/HST at 99.5% purity or more (CRA Memorandum 17-1) | Capital gains or business income rules |
| Australia | No GST at 99.5% purity or more (GSTR 2003/10) | Capital Gains Tax |
| United Kingdom | No VAT on investment gold 995 fine or more (Notice 701/21) | Capital Gains Tax applies to bars |
General information, not tax advice. Country guides: US gold tax, Canada gold tax, Australia gold tax and UK gold tax.
How do you check, store and sell a 10 oz bar?
- Match the serial number on the bar to its certificate or assay card, and keep your invoice. APMEX notes its Valcambi bar comes in a plastic capsule that can be opened. See what an assay card is.
- Measure and weigh it. Check length, width and thickness against the refiner's figures above, and weigh it on a scale reading to 0.01 g. A fake rarely matches all four. See how to tell if gold is real.
- Plan storage. At this value, check your home insurance limit or compare vaults in the gold storage guide.
- Get several buyback quotes. Dealers buy 10 oz bars below spot, and the gap varies. Our guide to selling gold bars explains how to compare offers.
Browse other weights and refiners in all gold bar guides, including the 5 oz bar and 250 gram bar. This page is information, not financial advice. Gold prices can fall as well as rise.
Frequently asked questions
How much is a 10 oz gold bar worth?
Ten times the spot price per troy ounce, shown live on this page. That was about US$41,860 on the morning of 12 October 2026. Dealers charged more: we saw 10 oz bars at C$60,660.17 (Gold Stock Canada), A$61,205.23 (the Perth Mint, cast) and US$43,656.90 (APMEX, Valcambi, paying by check or wire).
How many grams is a 10 oz gold bar?
311.035 grams of fine gold, because a troy ounce is 31.1035 g. Bars weigh a fraction more than that: the Perth Mint states a minimum gross weight of 311.050 g for its cast 10 oz bar and 311.066 g for its minted Kangaroo 10 oz bar.
How big is a 10 oz gold bar?
It depends on how it is made. The Perth Mint's cast 10 oz bar is at most 48 x 25 x 17 mm, a short, thick block. Its minted Kangaroo 10 oz bar is wider and flatter, at most 58.60 x 37.60 x 9.40 mm. Both hold the same 10 troy ounces of 99.99% gold.
Is a 10 oz gold bar cheaper than ten 1 oz bars?
Usually a little. At the Perth Mint the cast 10 oz bar cost 2.10% over spot on 12 October 2026, against 2.86% for its cast 1 oz bar in our 11 October check. On 10 oz of gold that gap is worth roughly A$450. Ten 1 oz bars cost more but let you sell one ounce at a time.
Can you buy a 10 oz gold bar in the UK?
It is not a common UK size. We did not find a 10 oz gold bar on the Royal Mint, Hatton Garden Metals or Chards gold bar ranges in October 2026. UK dealers favour metric weights, and the nearest sizes are 250 g (8.04 oz) and 500 g (16.08 oz). The 10 oz bar is mainly a North American and Australian size.
Is a 10 oz gold bar easy to sell?
Yes in North America and Australia, where it is a standard trading size and bars from known refiners such as Valcambi, PAMP, the Royal Canadian Mint and the Perth Mint are widely bought. You must sell the whole bar, so think about whether you may need to sell part of your gold later.
Sources
We checked these primary and official sources when writing and fact-checking this page.
- The Perth Mint: 10oz gold cast bar (48 x 25 x 17 mm maximum, A$61,205.23 on 12 Oct 2026)
- The Perth Mint: Kangaroo 10oz gold minted bar (58.60 x 37.60 x 9.40 mm maximum, A$61,381.25 on 12 Oct 2026)
- APMEX: 10 oz gold bar, Valcambi, in assay (US$43,656.90 on 12 Oct 2026)
- Gold Stock Canada: 10oz gold bar, 99.99% (C$60,660.17 on 12 Oct 2026)
- The Royal Mint: gold bars range (no 10 oz gold bar listed, October 2026)
- HMRC VAT Notice 701/21: Investment gold
- Canada Revenue Agency: GST/HST Memorandum 17-1 (precious metal at 99.5%)
- Australian Taxation Office: GSTR 2003/10, precious metal for GST (99.5% fineness)
- IRS Topic 409: Capital gains and losses (collectibles taxed at up to 28%)
Not financial advice. GoldVetted provides general information to help you compare options. It is not personal financial, tax or legal advice. Gold prices go down as well as up, and you may get back less than you pay. Check tax rules with the official source or a qualified adviser before you act.